Posted in DASH diet, Weight Loss

Dash Diet: The Beginning

dash-diet-fun-factsBack in January a co-worked told me about the DASH Diet and how she was going to begin it to reduce her blood pressure.  She said besides being great for lowering blood pressure, it also had benefits for people just wanting to lose weight and get healthier. I thought about giving it a go but at the time I was trying another diet, which sadly didn’t do much for me. And by the time I had last weighted myself at the end of January, I had gained 5 pounds and was thoroughly disgusted with dieting.

As I have made my way back into getting healthy and weight loss, I thought the DASH Diet could be beneficial, although I’m not working to lower my BP (after the ER visit and a couple orthopedic doctor visits I can say is normal).  The diet, which stands for: Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension, has been named one of the best diet plans around.

There’s not much to the diet itself, it’s just a healthier approach to eating with lots of veggies and fruits, whole grains, protein, and low-fat dairy.  There’s a book, cookbooks, plans, and Facebook support pages.  The diet starts with a 14 day Phase 1 to restart your system. Then in Phase 2 you can add back the items that had to be omitted in the starting phase, like fruits and grains.

For me, the two biggest challenges with this diet (and most) are in the nut category since I’m allergic to almost all tree nuts and the inclusion of healthy fats from avocados since I have an intolerance to them. I have modified the plan to include about 4-5 of the sample meals that I can eat.  And I will also not be using the sugar-free Jello portion of the diet. During Phase 1 you may eat as much sugar-free Jello as you’d like.

IMG_1654I am happy to report that yesterday’s weigh-in found me at 2 pounds down from my weight and sans the 2 phantom pounds that kept floating around for 2 weeks. So, I will start with this new weight as my beginning.  I’m also feeling better with my broken toe and will soon be able to add more power walking to my workouts. And maybe a bike ride, YAY!

This morning I had 2 hard boiled eggs, deviled, and 2 slices of Canadian Bacon. I’m waiting my mid morning snack and an awesome lunch of tuna, which I love.  I’m actually excited about this approach because it doesn’t seem to be difficult to follow.

A side note about the grains, I’m in the process of going gluten free as I’ve read gluten might be linked to migraines. So for this diet I have decided to eliminate as many of those foods as I can.

 

 

Leave a Reply

